Call us 

Buy Tickets


There are a huge number of people who contribute to any production. Contact us at volunteer {at} durhamsavoyards {dot} org if you want to help with our next production!

Production Staff


photo by Tanner Lovelace

Producer: Janell Lovelace; Assistant(s): Tanner Lovelace and Brittany Wagner
Artistic Director and Choreographer: Derrick Ivey
Music Director: Alan Riley Jones
Assistant Choreographer: Pam Guidry-Vollers
Set Designers: Derrick Ivey and Bobby Cameron
Sing-Through Accompanist: Betty Romani
Audition Accompanist: Allen Bean
Rehearsal Accompanists: Allen Bean, Betty Romani
Set Realizer: Bobby Cameron
Scenic Artist: Tony Alderman
Lighting Designer: Jenni Becker
Stage Manager: Donna Cavallo; Assistant: Pat Roos
Costume Designer: Diane Woodard
Costumer: Anna Rayno-Quirk
Assistants: Marian Anders, Karen Guidry, Joyce Horn, Dorothy Smith, Katherine Zeph, Shiangtai Tuan, Mary Guy, Christine Eckermann-Ross
Hair & Make-up Designer: Pam Guidry-Vollers
Props Designer / Manager: Ben Morgan; Assistants:
Paint Design: Tony Alderman
Painting Coordinator: Tracy Delius
Warehouse and Storage Manager; Technical Advisor: Charles Guidry
Technical Director: Lyle Bass
Wardrobe Mistress: Karen Guidry
Set Construction and Painting Team: Tony Alderman, Lyle Bass, Marcia Bridges, Bobby Cameron, Megan Colborn, Tracy Delius, Heyward Grainger, Charles Guidry, Mary Elizabeth Guy, Houston Horn, Kim Kingsley, Derek G. Lane, David Limes, Ben Morgan, Nick Staffa, Bruce Stewart, Fulton Strathern, Shiangtai Tuan
Running Crew:
Publicity: Sonja Foust
Social Chair: Katherine Zeph
Graphic Designer: Evelyn McCauley
Publicity Photos: Joe Cohn
Program Editor: Katherine Zeph
Program Back Cover Design: Charles Register
Program Assistants:
Videographer: Darryl Freedman
Ticket Managers: Karen Gray and Mary Guy
Website Manager: Janell Lovelace
Database Assistant: Kent Parks

Stage Cast – Principals


photo by Joe Cohn

King Paramount the First (King of Utopia) Jim Burnette
Scaphio (Judge of the Utopian Supreme Court) Stuart Albert
Phantis (Judge of the Utopian Supreme Court) Steve Dobbins
Tarara (the Public Exploder) Chris Newlon
Calynx (the Utopian Vice-Chamberlain) Kimberly Hirsh
Imported Flowers of Progress
Lord Dramaleigh (a British Lord Chamberlain) Dan Mason
Captain Fitzbattleaxe (First Life Guards) Mitchener Howell
Captain Sir Edward Corcoran, K.C.B. (of the Royal Navy) Ray Ubinger
Mr. Goldbury (a Company Promoter) Scott Sino
Sir Bailey Barre, Q.C., M.P. Michael Rowe
Mr. Blushington (of the County Council) Kent Parks
The Princess Zara (Eldest Daughter of King Paramount) Kathleen Jasinskas
The Princess Nekaya (her Younger Sister) Mary Elisabeth Hirsh
The Princess Kalyba (Nekaya’s Twin Sister) Lauren Hussey
The Lady Sophy (their English Governante) Alana Sealy
Phylla (Utopian Maiden) Mary Guy
Salata (Utopian Maiden) Kim Kingsley
Melene (Utopian Maiden) Ada Brown



Islanders, Troopers, etc. (Stage Chorus)

Pam Guidry-Vollers
Mary Guy
Kim Kingsley
Allison Ruvidich
Ruth Winecker
Marian Anders
Ada Brown
Christine Eckermann-Ross
Mary Ann Freedman
Kimberly Hirsh
Cathy Lambe
(Ruth Winecker)
(Marian Anders)
(Mary Ann Freedman)
Chris Newlon
Michael Rowe
Nick Staffa
Shiangtai Tuan
Houston Horn
Kent Parks
David Smith
Bruce Stewart
Ray Ubinger

Royal Chorus

Megan Colborn
Jan Harris
Marcia Bridges
Karen Gray
Joyce Weiser
(Jan Harris)
Hugh Mace
Bobby Cameron
Derek Lane



Orchestra Manager: Tanner Lovelace


photo by Janell Lovelace

Violin I: Frederic Ayala (Concertmaster), Margueritte Cox, Lee Hong, Jody Gaedtke
Violin II: Rebecca Lee, Omar A Ruiz Lopez
Viola: Nicolle Tulve, Norton Dickman
Cello: James Tyler-Walker, Julius Prescott
Double Bass: Tanner Lovelace
Clarinet: Shirley Violand-Jones, Mérida Negrete
Oboe: Nancy Wilson
Bassoon: Charles Gragg, Robin Hashey
Flute/Piccolo: Joanna Sisk-Purvis, Jenni Scoggin
Trumpet: Bruce Klitzman, Eric Daniel
Trombone: Christina Thompson, Jeep Morrison, Randy Guptil
French Horn: Sandy Svoboda, Mary Lynn van Deventer
Percussion:William Hayes